twitter Facebook donate
London for Ceremonial



A Note from the Composer

Lieutenant Colonel S N Haw MBE, Commanding Officer, Household Division Bands

In February 2021, Regina has been created as A Musical Tribute to celebrate the Ninety-Fifth Anniversary of the Birthday of Her Majesty The Queen, Head of The Commonwealth, in the seventieth year of Her Majesty’s reign.

Regina is a composition in five movements:

      I.   Tela Aurea – Cloth of Gold

      II.  Gratia - Grace

      III. Gloria In Excelsis Deo – Glory to God in The Highest

      IV.  Coniux – Consort

      V.   Vivat Regina – Long Live The Queen

Regina draws on symbols of State as sources of musical inspiration in the first movement, as well as more personal reflections on Her Majesty’s sense of grace and everlasting faith in the second and third movements. 

The fourth movement’s gentle musical depiction of a nautical seascape pays a respectful homage to His Royal Highness The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, who has been – in The Queen’s own words – her ‘strength and stay’ during her reign.

The Queen has ruled for longer than any other Monarch in British history. The final triumphal movement is a portrayal of Her Majesty’s seven-decade reign as Head of The Commonwealth; a profound sense of magnitude, greatness and esteem for a much loved and hugely respected figure around the globe.

Find out about cookies and changing your settings. If you continue without changing your settings, you are consenting to the use of cookies on our site.Close